Skip to main content

Farmers' Bills get support from 21 political parties

Farmers’ Bills get support from 21 political parties

Both Bills will be presented in the Parliament as Private Member Bills

Related Category:

Farmers will assemble in large numbers at district head quarters throughout the country on May 10, 2018, to present signed letters for the Chairman, Rajya Sabha and Speaker, Lok Sabha urging them to call a special session of Parliament on the issue and passing the Bills.

On April 25, 2018, All India Kisan Sangharsh Coordination Committee (AIKSCC) met representatives of various opposition and some NDA political parties and discussed with them the two bills, “Farmers Freedom from Indebtedness Bill 2018” and “Farmers’ Right to Guaranteed Remunerative Minimum Support Price for Agricultural Commodities Bill 2018” and finalised both of them.

Speaking on the Bills to be presented in the parliament, VM Singh, Chairman, AIKSCC, “First time in the history, the struggle for the farmers’ rights is being done in organised manner. It is a fact that, farmers can get their rights only through the Act passed by the Indian Parliament. It is the responsibility of the Government to get the Bills passed from the Parliament and implement them.”  

Main opposition parties and some ruling NDA supporters stamped their support to the Bills which will be presented in the parliament as a private members’ Bills.

AIKSCC and the leaders from the political parties met at the Parliament’s Annexie yesterday and discussed the two bills clause by clause making relevant changes to the text.

The parliamentarians; Sharad Pawar (Nationalist Congress Party), Sharad Yadav, Deependra Hooda (Congress), Dr. Dinesh Trivedi (Trinamool Congress), JP Yadav (Rashtriya Janata Dal), Arvind Sawant (Shiv Sena), Nagendra Pradhan (Biju Janata Dal), Vijay Sai Reddy (YSR Congress), AR Rathar (J&K National Conference), Hannan Mollah (Communist Party of India -Marxist) and Jayant Chowdhary (Rashtriya Lok Dal) met and discussed on the Bills. Apart from these political parties and leaders, Telugu Desham Party, Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Ssamaj Party, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Janata Dal (S), Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Communist Party of India, CPI(ML) ND, CPI(ML) Liberation, SWP, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) have also given their written support.

The 192 farmers organisations were represented by 5 members, Chairman, VM Singh, MP Raju Shetty, Dr. Ashish Mittal, Kavitha Kuruganti and Kiran Vissa along with former chairman of Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP), Dr. Tajmul Haque.

6 Votes with an average with 4.2

Related Story

Cabinet okays MoUs with Lebanon in agriculture, with Romania in tourism. Photo: Shutterstock
Cabinet okays MoUs with Lebanon in agriculture, with Romania in tourism

The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has approved the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between India and Lebanon for cooperation in the field of agriculture and…

Jharkhand invites invest in agriculture & food processing
Jharkhand invites invest in agriculture & food processing

The Government of Jharkhand, as a part of its endeavour to develop agriculture sector in the state and with a view to provide a focused platform to the prospective investors in the agriculture and…

India to share agriculture expertise with Suriname
India to share agriculture expertise with Suriname

Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Radha Mohan Singh met Lekhram Soerdjan, Minister of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries of the Republic of Suriname in Krishi Bhawan, New…