Skip to main content

MSDE felicitates young entrepreneurs at National Entrepreneurship Awards

World’s fastest growing economy celebrated success of entrepreneurial shepherds at 3rd National Entrepreneurship Awards

Related Category: Sub Category:

The Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE) concluded the third edition of the National Entrepreneurship Awards (NEA), by honouring 30 outstanding young entrepreneurs and three entrepreneurship ecosystem builders for their exceptional contribution in entrepreneurship development at a ceremony held in New Delhi Friday evening.

Among the winners and models of excellence included Roshan Kahtoon, 23, from Bihar, who is an inspiration to many. Despite her physical disability, she has beaten all odds and has set up a small bangle manufacturing unit. Shruthi Reddy Sethi, 33, of Kolkata, who started Anthyesti Funeral Services to provide end-to-end funeral management service; Tana Sumpaaged, 35, of the Nyishi tribe, Arunachal Pradesh, who is successfully running piggery farms and fisheries and also helping local people, women, housewives and unemployed youth with quality training and livelihood support. Among others felicitated were Mahipal Chary Kadivendi, 38, of Telangana, who has developed a self-propelled weeder-cum-cultivator that can be used for a number of agricultural processes such as hoeing, weeding, tilling, sowing and also for applying fertiliser or insecticides.

List of National Entrepreneurship Awards 2018 winners.jpg

Speaking on the occasion, Suresh Prabhu, Minister of Commerce & Industry and Civil Aviation, said, “I would like to congratulate all award winners for their exemplary performance. The definition of entrepreneurship is constantly evolving and with change in fixed tenure jobs, the nature of working environment is changing with more people creating their job space versus joining a certain industry. There are ample opportunities for our youth to be gainfully engaged in launching start-up initiatives in the country.”

He further added, “The economic growth of a country depends on the economic growth of its people. The youth needs to be empowered today with skills which can empower them. The change in market environment is no more a challenge, but has become an opportunity for many. Government of India’s initiatives like Mudra Yojana, Start Up India, the GeM portal, etc. are giving the best and most conducive environment to our young entrepreneurs.”

Talking about the award recipients this year, Minister of State, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE), Anantkumar Hegde, said, "Our country's strength is its human resource. The Government is committed to supporting everyone - across small, medium or large categories of entrepreneurs, and create market linkages for all. No entrepreneur is different from another as each has to invest the same amount of passion, grit and commitment in their venture. National Entrepreneurship Awards is a recognition of immense talent that our youth has. I would urge our youth to work hard, take risks and write their own destiny. This is just the beginning. There are immense opportunities in the country and sky is the limit."

Milind Kamble, Founder & Chairman, Dalit Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, said, "The government is making commendable efforts to create a strong support system for entrepreneurs across categories including those who are marginalised. I would give AAA rating to the Government for being accessible, accommodating and being action oriented. We are happy to associate with the Ministry and commit our support in their endeavours to boost the MSME sector."

The National Entrepreneurship Awards (NEA) was instituted by MSDE in 2016 to encourage a culture of entrepreneurship across the country. A total of 33 winners – 30 Young Entrepreneurs and 3 Entrepreneurship Ecosystem Builders were awarded. Each of the enterprise/individual winners received a trophy, certificate and a prize money of Rs 5 lakh, while each of the winning organisations/institutes received a trophy, certificate and a prize money of Rs 10 lakh.

The National Entrepreneurship Awards 2018 had 12 institutes and organisations as its partners in the Core Committee, namely Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay; Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi; Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati; Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur; Indian Institute of Technology, Madras; Institute of Rural Management, Anand; National Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development (NABARD); National Innovation Foundation, Ahmedabad; National Institute of Agricultural Extension Management, Hyderabad; Rural Development & Self-Employment Training Institute, Bangalore; Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai and  Xavier School of Management, Jamshedpur.

3 Votes with an average with 3.7

Related Story

New Holland Agriculture shines at Indian Tractor of the Year Award

New Holland Agriculture, one of the world’s leading agricultural equipment brands, won three awards in New Delhi recently at the first edition of the Tractor of the Year Award (ITOTY) 2019,…

Need of Rural Management Education in India

Companies who are catering to rural market or willing enter to this segment, are looking for professionals who can measure the pulse of rural market aptly. Prof. Swati Sethi

Rice exporter GRM acquires processing plant near Mundra Port

GRM Overseas, India’s third largest basmati rice exporter to the world and second largest to the Middle East, has announced the acquisition of a manufacturing facility at Gandhidham in Kutch,…